Remembering Mother

MomandMeorLinda Sunday was my first Mother’s Day without my mother, who passed away last year. The sorrow I feel is inexpressible.  My mother was the most beautiful, the most talented, and the most intriguing woman I’ve ever known.

She suffered many loses.  Most of her siblings died relatively young.  Her father died in his forties and her mother in her sixties. She was intensely passionate about the people she loved,  including those who had passed on, but she kept her feelings in check.

Mom expressed her feelings through art, music, and poetry–and excelled in all three.  solitudepicShe started drawing late in life, sketching  landscapes, people, and still life.   Her painting “Solitude” won first place in a contest in Richmond, Virginia.

No one could play the piano like my mother.  She had music in her bones.  Mom’s “jazzy” style came through in almost every composition–with the exception of hymns.  She played them with reverence but also with lots of energy.  Playing hymns came natural to my mother because she was a Methodist’s preacher’s wife.

PianoBanjoI’m glad that I taped her playing “Alabama Jubilee,” “Frankie and Johnnie,” “Ain’t She Sweet,” “Faith of Our Faiths,” “Blest Be the Tie that Binds,” Mozart’s “Sonata No. 16 in C Major,” and “He Ransomed Me” (a hymn that she wrote in 2000).  Often  I would interrupt her, and ask her what key she was playing in.  She enjoyed taking a single song and playing it in every key. Sometimes she played by hear; sometimes by reading music.

My dad, Rev. Dr. Eugene B. Wright, passed away eight years before she did.  He played the banjo.  I loved watching them play music together. They were a team.  Mom helped him in the ministry and somehow found time to teach elementary school and later became a real estate broker.

In the last year of her life, Mother played “When the Roll is Called Up Yonder” time and again.  She often alluded to dying.  She knew lots of scripture.  Even in her late 90s, she was quoting the Bible.  Her favorite verse was, “For what is your life?  It is even a vapor that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away” (James 4: 14, Holy Bible).

My mother was fiercely independent, but December 1, 2015, she had a stroke that left the right side of her body paralyzed.  The day she was taken by ambulance to the emergency room, she was helpless.  Her right arm and leg were useless.  She looked at me with tear-filled eyes that haunt me to this day.  I think it was the first– and only time–that I saw my mother cry.  She died a week later.

Mom is in heaven.  She saw Jesus a few days before she passed away.  This life on earth is indeed “a vapor,” but for those in Christ, death is beginning of life eternal with the Lord.  I am confident that I will see her again. “In the sweet by and by we will meet on that beautiful shore.”

MomMeLinda

Mom, me (the baby), and my sister Linda

 

8 comments

  1. Beautifully written in remembrance of your Mom.

  2. Thank you, Evelyn. She was all that I described and so much more!

  3. You are richly blessed beyond measure. Prayers for comfort now but “Joy will come in the morning” . Thank you for sharing your Mother and you. ~ Amen: Y

  4. Anonymous · · Reply

    Many tears. What a remarkable woman.

  5. Anonymous · · Reply

    It’s so amazing! You and I had such wonderful Mothers. I feel as if I am realizing it more and more since she has passed. I guess it’s because I’m still thinking and learning from her even tho she is gone. She’s not really gone you know. There is a poem that explains . She is a rose that has climbed a wall gone over and is now blooming on the other side, Christ’s side. I like that and that’s what I think about when I miss her so much. She is still blooming, just out of my sight. We are so blessed to have had such Mother’s and I am blessed to have such a friend. Love You.

  6. Many thanks to all for the condolences and kind remarks. To know that our loved ones are with the Lord does indeed bring “joy in the morning” (Psalm 30: 5). Blessings!

  7. what a lovely story, thank you for sharing your mom with us. May your memories of the love shared with your mom continue to comfort you until the day you see her again and your dad – when all of you will be standing at the throne of God in all of His glory – singing (perhaps also playing the banjo and piano!) Hugs – Patty

  8. Thank you, Patty. What beautiful imagery! I love the thought of hearing Mom and Dad making music together again. God bless you. Love & Hugs

Leave a Reply

