Resurrection in the Old and New Testaments

And as for me, I know that my Redeemer lives, And at the last He will take His stand on the earth.  Even after my skin is destroyed, Yet from my flesh I shall see God; Whom I myself shall behold, And whom my eyes shall see and not another.  My heart faints within me (Job 19: 25-27 NASB).

But your dead will live; their bodies will rise.  You who dwell in the dust, wake up and shout for joy.  You dew is like the dew of the morning; the earth will give birth to her dead.  Go, my people, enter your rooms and shut the doors behind you; hide yourselves for a little while until his wrath has passed by.  See, the LORD is coming out of his dwelling to punish the people of earth for their sins (Isaiah 26: 19-21a NIV).

Do not let your hearts be troubled.  Trust in God; trust also in me.  In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you.  I am going there to prepare a place for you.  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you may also be where I am (John 14: 1-3 NIV).

(*Notice the reference to “rooms” in both Isaiah 26 and John 14.  Norm Franz of Ascension Ministries reflects on this in his sermon dated 9/7/2013 concerning the Fall Feasts.)

And at that time shall Micheal stand up, the great prince which standeth for the children of thy people: and there shall be a time of trouble, such as never was since there was a nation even to that time: and at that time thy people shall be delivered, every one that shall be found written in the book.  And many of them that sleep in the dust shall awake, some to everlasting life, and some to shame and everlasting contempt.  And they that be wise shall shine as the brightness of the firmament; and they that turn many to righteousness as the stars for ever and ever (Daniel 12: 1-3 KJV).

But we do not want you to be uninformed, brethren, about those who are asleep, that you may not grieve, as do the rest who have no hope.  For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so God will bring with him those who have fallen asleep in Jesus.  For this we say to you by the word of the Lord, that we who are alive, and remain unto the coming of the Lord, shall not precede those who have fallen asleep.  For the Lord himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trumpet of God; and the dead in Christ shall rise first.  Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air, and thus we shall all be with the Lord (I Thessalonians 4: 13-17 NASB).

The Bible verses here and in my previous post, Feast of Trumpets, relate to the first resurrection in Revelation 20: 6.  I plan to post more verses about the first resurrection in future posts.

 

2 thoughts on “Resurrection in the Old and New Testaments

Add yours

  1. Where are the resurrected going in your opinion? No where in the Word have I found that heaven is a valid destination. The Scripture merely says they/we will be with Him; and He is descending!

  2. Good question! Answer: With Christ, as you said, but keep reading. Followers of Christ will be with Christ forever when we receive glorified bodies at the Rapture. Christ is at the right hand of God in heaven, and heaven is coming to earth after the Second Coming. “Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth; for the first heaven and the first earth passed away, and there is no longer any sea. And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, made ready as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne, saying, ‘Behold, the tabernacle of God is among men, and He will dwell among them, and they shall be His people, and God Himself will be among them.'”

    Heaven is indeed a valid destination, more real than earth. Paul calls it “the third heaven.” Many–like Elijah, Isaiah, Moses, Abraham, Stephen, Ezekiel, St. Paul–have seen heaven and/or heavenly beings.

    Here are some Biblical descriptions of heaven for you to consider: “In the year of King Uzziah’s death I saw the Lord sitting on a throne, lofty and exalted, with the train of His robe filling the temple. Seraphim stood above Him each having six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew. And one called out to another and said, “Holy, Holy, Holy, is the LORD of hosts, The whole earth is full of His glory.” And the foundations of the thresholds trembled at the voice of him who called out, while the temple was filling with smoke. Then I said, “Woe is me, for I am ruined! Because I am a man of unclean lips, And I live among a people of unclean lips; For my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.” Then one of the seraphim flew to me with a burning coal in his hand, which he had taken from the altar with tongs. He touched my mouth with it and said, “Behold, this has touched your lips; and your iniquity is taken away and your sin is forgiven” (Isaiah 6: 1-7 NASB).

    Stephen’s vision of heaven is recorded in Acts 7: 55-60. “But being full of the Holy Spirit, he [Stephen] looked into heaven and saw the glory of God, and Jesus standing t the right hand of God” (Acts 7: 55 NASB).

    Paul’s vision of heaven is similar to Stephen’s. “I know a man in Christ who fourteen years ago–whether in the body, I do not know, or out of the body I do not know, God knows–such a man was caught up to the third heaven. And I know how such a man–whether in the body or apart from the body, I do not know. God knows–was caught up into Paradise, and heard inexpressible words, which a man is not permitted to speak” (2 Corinthians 12: 2-4 NASB).

    The tabernacle described in Exodus is a model of the temple in heaven. God revealed it to Moses on the mountain.

    Thank you for writing. I love questions. It makes me do my homework. By the way, I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

