Do Animals Go to Heaven?

Do earth-born animals go to heaven when they die?  I would like to think so, but I can’t find a single verse to support it.  Regardless, some appear to have a spiritual side.

I have four feral cats, but only one of them has a Biblical name:  Abigail (I Samuel 25: 23-42).  Actually, I did not give her a Biblical name deliberately.  As a feral kitten, she lived in the parking lot of a shopping center and hid in the bushes near Boston Market.  I caught her but didn’t know what to call her.  Someone said, “Name her Abigail after Abigail Adams from Boston since you found her near Boston Market.”  I nicknamed her “Abby.”  She answers to either name with a slight twitch of her ear–then returns to napping or making mischief.  (She has a passive-aggressive personality, which is why I’m the only adult that likes her.)

She loves computers and books.  Although she cannot read, Abby edits my work, and I have newsletters (published before I caught her typos) to prove it.  Spiritual or not, Abigail always ends up near–or on top of–the number one best-seller.

AbbySittingBible

Abigail

4 comments

  1. I wonder about animals, too. We had 2 dogs who were a part of our family for many years. I know there are white horses in heaven right now, and you would think that God would provide pets for all the kids (and adults)?! God bless you, Sheryl! \o/
    ~Liz

    1. Hi Liz. I never thought about those horses until recently; however, someone pointed out that the horses were created in heaven, not on earth. Just the same, it’s interesting to note that when the people of Nineveh humbled themselves and fasted, they put their animals on a fast (Jonah 3: 7) too. And God knows when a sparrow falls from the sky. Thanks for commenting. God bless you, too.

  2. I couldn’t help but see the book, ‘The Daily Bible’ in the pic with the beautiful cat. I really enjoyed reading that book.

    1. I love the Daily Bible also. I use several Bibles, but when I want to read it from start to finish in one year, the Daily Bible works best for me. Regarding “Abigail,” I rescued her when she was a kitten from a parking lot in a shopping center. She’s also good for a photo op.

Leave a Reply

