Psalm 42: 1-2

As the deerThe Lord's Prayer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God.  My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.  When can I go and meet with God?” (NIV)

Spending time with God is essential to spiritual growth and maturity.  When you love someone, you desire to be with him or her.  Spending time alone with God should be our first priority.  Reading the Bible, fasting, and prayer are obvious ways to spend time with God.  The most difficult part for me has been learning to listen to God during times of prayer and praise.  I tend to yak too much when I pray and don’t wait for God to respond.  But I’m learning.  I have never heard His audible voice, but He speaks to my spirit when I shut up and listen.

Foto de una carretera en la cual se destacan a...
Foto de una carretera en la cual se destacan anuncios de los restaurantes de comida rápida KFC, Wendy’s y Taco Bell entre otros. Picture of a highway in which fast food ads are featured:KFC, Wendy’s and Taco Bell among others. Taken in Bowling Green, KY. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Listening to God is an art.  Yes, He always speaks to us through His Word (and He will never contradict His Word), but He also speaks to us when we pray and worship Him–if we allow Him to get a word in edgewise.  The problem is that modern man is accustomed to fast food (a.k.a. “fast food mentality”).  We must learn to “wait upon the LORD.”

I have much to say about prayer in general, based on The Lord’s Prayer.  But I’ll save that for another time.  God is waiting for me, and I don’t want to disappoint Him.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

