Perry Stone: Review of His Sermon on Rahab

 

Rahab and the Emissaries of Joshua
Rahab and the Emissaries of Joshua (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

"Joshua spares Rahab" (Jos 6:25)
“Joshua spares Rahab” (Jos 6:25) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

Last night I attended a service in which Perry Stone was speaking.  (If you’re not familiar with Perry Stone, you can learn about him and his ministry at http://www.voe.org)  He gave an outstanding sermon about Rahab, the harlot.  Most Christians are aware that Rahab was the prostitute in Jericho who hid the Hebrew spies when they came to Jericho to survey the city before God destroyed the walls surrounding it.  In return, the sons of Israel spared Rahab and her family when they attacked the inhabitants.  From then on, Rahab followed the God of the Bible.  She is mentioned 7 times in scripture–sometimes by her real name; other times she is called “the prostitute.”

 

Her name is listed in Jesus’ genealogy.  “And to Salmon was born Boaz by Rahab; and to Boaz was born Obed by Ruth; and to Obed, Jesse; and to Jesse was born David the King” (Matthew 1: 5-6 NASB).

 

The sermon was filled with facts, many of which were new to me.  I highly recommend getting a copy of this and other sermons by Perry Stone.  He is a humble man with an anointed ministry.  I believe that copies of this sermon will be available at Voice of Evangelism (VOE) soon.

 

8 thoughts on “Perry Stone: Review of His Sermon on Rahab

Add yours

  1. Perry Stone is a lively, charismatic preacher.. I’m sure that if you heard him preach, you wouldn’t doze off, Bongo. He goes to Israel and Russia and all over the place teaching and preaching. His TV program “Mannafest” (sp?) is the third most popular program in Russia. Even members of the KGB (bad guys) have become Christians (good guys) after hearing him share the Gospel (Good News).

    I heard him speak in person again tonight. I don’t know if he owns a dog, but he loves everybody with a soul, and I can tell that you have one, Bongo. I can see it in your eyes. Dogs are mentioned in the Bible, but the only breed referred to by name is the greyhound (Proverbs 30: 31 KJV). Personally, if I owned a dog, I would want one just like you.

  2. God Bless Perry Stone. I just read his book “Satan’s Playbook” – or something like that – it was excellent! Based on the Bible and common sense observations, he really opened my eyes. Especially on his contributions re: former heavy cocaine addicts who said that they believe that Satan uses that and other similar drugs as counterfeit Holy Spirit feelings. They said that when they were baptized in the Holy Spirit that the real force of it was GREATER than any drug effect they had ever had! Yippee!!! God always wins over Satan and Perry Stone knows how to tell the stories. Thank You Lord for the Perry Stones AND the Sheryl’s of the world!!! Bless them both! In Jesus’ name!!!

    1. Hi Robert. Thank you so much for your comments. I just heard Perry Stone again tonight in person. In fact, he spoke at my church three days in a row, and tonight was his last night. The place was packed! I haven’t read “Satan’s Playbook,” although it was available in the lobby. The problem was that I saw so many fascinating books, audio books, CDs, and DVDs that it was difficult to decide which ones to buy. I’ll be sure to post more about Perry Stone on this blog as recall some of the highlights. May God be with you, and bless you. I’ll keep “Satan’s Playbook” in mind. Thanks for the recommendation.

  3. Interesting pictures you included in this post. I’m blogging my way through The Bible’s story in 2013, and I just arrived at Jericho. I hope you’ll stop by bigstoryguide.wordpress.com to read “The Eyes of a Prostitute.”

    1. Thank you for visiting my blog. I’m enjoying yours. My favorite verse that you quote in the story of Rahab is:

      “Everyone in Jericho had seen them [the sons of Israel] coming, and they had heard how God led the people of Israel out of Egypt, through the Red Sea. They had heard how the people of Israel had defeated two powerful kings on the other side of the Jordan. And, they could see the Israelites preparing to move toward Jericho.

      “. . .all who live in this country are melting in fear because of you.”

      I’m glad you included those verses, which I left out of my post. They are very important because Rahab knew God was with the sons of Israel. God’s reputation for miracles preceded the spies.

      Also, the verses point out that the sons of Israel could have easily taken the Promised Land the first time, instead of wandering through the wilderness forty years, because the people of Jericho and elsewhere were terrified of the God of Israel.

      Perry Stone singled out those verses you quoted for the reasons I listed. Thank you & blessings!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

