God Speaks

English: Hanukkah menorah, known also as Hanuk...
English: Hanukkah menorah, known also as Hanukiah. Česky: Chanukový svícen chanukija (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m amazed at the ways in which God speaks to us.  I am so grateful for the Bible.  I was writing about Hanukkah on Facebook when God took me straight to his Word and showed me everything I was looking for–and more.  My eyes focused right on these passages in the NASB.

John 10: 22, 23  At that time the Feast of Dedication [Hanukkah] took place at Jerusalem; it was winter and Jesus was walking in the temple in the portico of Solomon.

Daniel 11: 36a Then the king will do as he pleases, and he will exalt and magnify himself above every god and will speak monstrous things against the God of gods.  (I believe that Antiochus is a prototype of the anti-christ, and that is what this passage refers to.)

Matthew 24: 15 Therefore when you see the ABOMINATION OF DESOLATION which was spoken of through Daniel the prophet, standing in the holy place [let the reader understand]”

“[let the reader understand]”   Wow!  Jesus is talking to all of his followers–even me.  We are the readers..

Matthew 24: 16  “Then those who are in Judea must flee to the mountains.”

I have often pondered verse 16.  I think Jesus is speaking of the end times.  On the other hand, maybe the verse is addressed to Jesus’ contemporaries and what would happen in 70 AD.  OR maybe the prophecy refers to then as well as in the near future.  Although I’m puzzled about this verse, I know that the disciples of Jesus knew exactly what he was talking about.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

